- Here are 10 different types of billiard games and their rules -

1. "Carom/French Billiards"

Requires a total of 3 balls; 2 white cue balls and 1 red object ball. It’s played by two opponents on a 4 by 8 ft, 5 by 10 ft or 6 by 1 ft pocket-less tables with spots markings on the head, foot, and center strings. Games objective to carom a player's own cue ball off your opponent's cue ball plus the object ball using a single shot.

2. "Snooker"

Requires 22 in total (15 red balls each 1 point, 1 cue ball, and 6 inversely colored balls worth an increasing number of points. Played on a 12 by 6 ft snooker table with 6 pockets. Maximum points equate to winning. Objective; Striking the white cue ball with a cue for it to strike the object balls in turn and pocket them.

3. "English Billiards"

Played by 2 opponents/teams. Requires 3 numbers of balls consisting of 1 white cue ball, 1 red object ball and 1 yellow cue ball. Only a maximum of 15 consecutive hazards and 75 cannons can be made without cannon and a hazard respectively without a hazard to avoid fouls. Objective: To outscore your opponent to win.

4. "Pocket billiards"

Requires 15 numbered colored balls, a 6 pockets rectangular table of 4 by 8 ft or 4.5 by 9 ft table. Winning the game requires a player to pocket a total of 8 balls. Objective: to pocket the object balls in a specific order with each strike.

5. "Straight Pool"

Number of Balls: 16 (7 stripes, 7 solids, 1 eight ball, and 1 cue ball) each ball equates to 1 point. Played up to 150 points. Scoring done by calling the ball pocketing on each shot. Games objective is to reach a certain number of points before your opponent.

6. "Cutthroat Pool"

This group –played billiard requires 15 designated pool balls numbered 1-15 and a cue ball. Balls split into different groups for players to claim. The objective is to aim and pocket your opponents’ balls legally and be the last man standing on the table to win. Players without balls on the table get eliminated.

7. "7-Ball"

Played by two opponents, requires 7 object balls numbered 1-7 plus the cue ball. Winner must pocket all the balls except the 7-ball legally to win. Object balls don’t have point value. The 7-ball’s is a must call shot for any player to be declared the winner.

8. "15-ball"

Requires 15 standard balls (each valued at 1 point) numbered 1-15 and a cue ball. Winner must reach a maximum of 61 points. Shooters/players compete for points to win while scratches are fouls that make you lose points since spotted balls are returned to the table after being pocketed. The first player to reach 61points wins.

9. "Baseball Billiards"

Traditionally requires a rack of 21 designated balls numbered 1-21 and a white cue ball. Each player must get 9 innings without missing to earn maximum points. Points are earned by pocketing maximum balls. The player with the highest runs wins.

10. "Bowliards"

Played using 10 object balls of 1 point each, every player must get 2 innings per frame and plays a maximum of 10 frames. Players don’t share balls and each person shoots from their own rack. Winner equates to winning highest points after the 10 frames.